top of page

Carrying Out Data Collection, Research, and Reflection

An in-progress portrayal of hands on approaches to learning about our environmental surroundings based on the current Anthropogenic shifts on ecosystems world-wide, from various specificities.

Reflecting on The -Cene

Through the progression of my work in Environmental Analysis as a course this semester, my research has, thus far, encompassed testing the validity of one of two topics: the Anthropocene and the Capitalocene. In reflecting on the two, I realize that in studying the current era from the lens of two different methodologies, there is a seemingly inexorable theme of unnatural manipulation of natural patterns due to our species’ actions.

In exploring the era that we are currently impacting, called the Anthropocene, significant changes in land cover, and in turn overall environments, shifted due to man-made, or anthropogenic, developments. In studying Southwest Portland, the transfer of non-native species, sprawling growth of urbanization, and clearing of forests and other ecosystems has impacted temperature and humidity levels, creating an uninhabitable environment for many native species (see Labs One-Five for more information). This disruption of natural patterns in the studied area proved more than an unfortunate shift, but planted the seed for continued research on this notion that we have altered the natural processes of this planet.

In shifting my focus to the concept of the Capitalocene, I found that I was building on my studies of the Anthropocene. After finding validity through my own research, I continued by exploring how exactly we are able to manipulate natural processes and alter so many ecosystems, without in turn inflicting harm on our own. Hence, the Capitalocene (see Labs Six-Nine for more information). While I may not feel the effects here in Oregon, United States of America, that does not ring true for large percentages of the population, specifically those belonging to lower groups of wealth and/or income. In comparing the locations of various populations of income, wealth, and race to the EPI (Environmental Performance Index) scores of their locations, I found hot spots that portrayed not only that we are obviously polluting, trashing the planet, but are doing it unfairly (if that’s even possible). Countries of higher wealth proved to pollute more, and yet feel the impacts less, while countries of lower wealth and income groups seem to be the most negatively impacted by the detrimental effects of pollution and climate change. And here is where I realized, in manipulating so many natural processes, we have harmed our own, just not necessarily the countries of higher income brackets, such as the United States. Those that bear the costs and are harmed by our own manipulations are the groups often unable to overcome, hence why I say, we have not only polluted our planet, but we have done so in a way that proves inequitable.

In continuing to build on the two previous theories of Anthropogenic influence in the current era, I find myself at a point in my studies where I must hypothesize another frame of influence in the form of a third era. Now that I have studied our influence as a species as a whole, followed by our influence in the form of capitalism, I find it time to research how a specific industry can have long lasting effects on environmental health and biodiversity. I can’t help but reflect that with the amount of influence and wealth that the United States encompasses, that a single industry sourcing from such could in itself create global effects. However, in relaying this to situate current affairs, I found myself drawn to studying a topic I had yet to see explored as a global chain, but seemed to be having powerful environmental impacts across the world. And here I find myself in the final leg of this semester’s research: The Anthropocene, The Capitalocene, and The Narcocene.

124 views
bottom of page